Archive for January, 2012

|

MIND AND MEMORY: WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW

Thursday, January 19th, 2012

This FREE program is open to the public as a  community service

As we age, we worry about memory loss.  Should we be concerned if we can’t remember a neighbor’s name, a doctor’s appointment or where we left our keys?  With our hectic lives and multi-tasking it’s not unusual to experience a lapse in memory.   Attend this workshop to understand what is normal forgetfulness, what causes memory impairment and how to improve your memory. Handouts and refreshments will be available.

This program is sponsored by the Nassau Academy of Medicine

Wednesday, April 18, 2012 at 11:00 AM-12:00 Noon

at the Nassau Academy of Medicine

located at 1200 Stewart Avenue, Garden City, NY.

Pre-registration is recommended. Contact the Academy directly at 516-832-2300, Ext. 13 to register. For directions visit http://www.nacmed.org

* * *

Posted in SEMINARS AND PROGRAMS | No Comments »

URGENT ACTION Collective Bargain Bill goes to Assembly Health on Jan 19.

Wednesday, January 18th, 2012

The Consumer Protection Act - Collective Bargaining - is on the Assembly Health Committee agenda, for Thursday, January 19, 2012. Without your help, this bill will not pass.

Email as many committee members as possible below. Tell them to VOTE YES on A2474a.

Richard Gottfried, Chair

GottfriedR@assembly.state.ny.us

Inez Barron

BarronI@assembly.state.ny.us

Kevin Cahill

CahillK@assembly.state.ny.us

NelsonCastro

Castro@assembly.state.ny.us

James Conte

ConteJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Steven Cymbrowitz

CymbroS@assembly.state.ny.us

Jeffery Dinowitz

DinowitzJ@assmbly.state.ny.us

Christopher Friend

friendc@assembly.state.ny.us

Sandy Galef

GalefS@assembly.state.ny.us

Andy Goodell

goodellA@assembly.state.ny.us

Aileen Gunther

GuntherA@assembly.state.ny.us

Andrew Hevesi

HevesiA@assembly.state.ny.us

Rhoda Jacobs

JacobsR@assembly.state.ny.us

Charles Lavine

mailto:LavineC@assembly.state.ny.us

David McDonough

McDonoD@assembly.state.ny.us

Joel Miller

MillerJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Amy Paulin

PaulinA@assembly.state.ny.us

Cyrstal People-Stoke

PeoplesstokesC@assembly.state.ny.us

Edward Ra
raE@assembly.state.ny.us

Andrew Raia

RaiaA@assembly.state.ny.us

Naomi Riveria

RiveriaN@assembly.state.ny.us

Linda Rosenthal

RosenthalL@assembly.state.ny.us

Robin Schimminger

SchimmR@assembly.state.ny.us

Matthew Titone

TitoneM@assembly.state.ny.us

Lou Tobacco

TobaccoL@assembly.state.ny.us

Suffolk and Nassau Assembly members in red

* * *

Posted in NEWS FROM THE NYS LEGISLATURE, TOP NEWS STORIES | No Comments »

Flu Immunization Update for Medicare Physicians

Tuesday, January 10th, 2012

Flu Season is Here! While seasonal flu outbreaks can happen as early as October, flu activity usually peaks in January. Remind your patients that annual vaccination is recommended for optimal protection. Medicare pays for the seasonal flu vaccine and its administration for seniors and others with Medicare with no co-pay or deductible. Healthcare workers, who may spread the flu to high risk patients, should get vaccinated too. Don’t forget to immunize yourself and your staff. Protect your patients. Protect your family. Protect yourself. Get the Flu Vaccine—Not the Flu.

Remember – The flu vaccine plus its administration are covered Part B benefits.  CMS has posted the 2011-2012 seasonal flu vaccine payment limits at http://www.CMS.gov/McrPartBDrugAvgSalesPrice/10_VaccinesPricing.asp.  Note that the flu vaccine is NOT a Part D-covered drug.

For more information on coverage and billing of the flu vaccine and its administration, as well as related educational provider resources, visit http://www.CMS.gov/MLNProducts/35_PreventiveServices.asp and http://www.cms.gov/immunizations.

* * *

Posted in FLU/IMMUNIZATION UPDATES, MEDICARE UPDATES | No Comments »

Revised Medicare fee schedule for January 1, to February 29, 2012 is up on-line

Friday, January 6th, 2012

The revised Medicare fee schedule for January 1, to February 29, 2012 is up on-line at:

http://www.ngsmedicare.com/wps/portal/ngsmedicare/!ut/p/c4/04_SB8K8xLLM9MSSzPy8xBz9CP0os3gDr2BnRzdTEwN3YwMjA0_H0FDXMH8jA3dLM_2CbEdFAOFxTSo!/

Please be sure to review your correct NYS payment locality.

Again, as you should know, CONGRESS voted on at least five (5) separate Medicare Physician Fee Schedules for calendar year 2010.  This caused the Medicare contractors to reprocess physicians’ claims for the first 5 months of the 2010 year and resulted in some peculiar recovery actions. Please use the following link to locate your elected officials and contact them to urge that 2010 not be repeated:  http://www.mssny.org/mssnyip.cfm?c=s&nm=Grassroots_Action The Medicare fee schedule needs to be properly addressed.  Fixing the flawed Medicare payment system and protecting Medicare beneficiaries’ access to doctors is vital.  Congress must pass legislation permanently reforming the SGR and address this issue once and for all.  The pattern of threatened SGR cuts and last-minute Congressional rescues is in itself not a sustainable solution and must be remedied.

Regina

Regina McNally, VP

Division of Socio-Medical Economics

Medical Society of the State of New York

Posted in MEDICARE UPDATES, NATIONAL HEALTHCARE NEWS | No Comments »

|